Episode 2 – Top 10 Horror Movies

In episode 2 of the CTGY podcast, Rich and Kelly discuss their top 10 horror films.

News, worthy mentions and the usual insults towards each other are included – also Kellys apologises for how drunk she was during episode 1..

Thankfully the sound is SO much better – we fixed everything just in time.

Feel free to download, listen, comment etc.

Twitter – https://twitter.com/CTGYpodcast

Email @ CTGYpodcast@hotmail.com

Intro segment – Night of the Living Dead (1968)
Outro song – Lynyrd Skynyrd ‘Freebird’

Cheers!

3 thoughts on “Episode 2 – Top 10 Horror Movies

  1. Since lists are fun, here’s my top then that I came up with last year.

    tl;dr version
    10. The Descent (2005)
    09. The Texas Chainsaw Massacre (1974)
    08. Trick ‘r Treat (2007)
    07. Paranormal Activity (2009)
    06. Child’s Play 2 (1990)
    05. Frankenstein (1931)
    04. Psycho (1960)
    03. A Nightmare on Elm Street 3 (1987)
    02. Black Christmas (1974)
    01. Halloween 4 (1988)

    Far too wordy version with explanations

    There’s some caveats though. These are not movies I necessarily believe are the best ten in horror history. It’s more based on my personal favorites where greater attention is given towards those movies I’ve seen a lot and for a greater amount of time. So there aren’t any movies on here that I’ve only seen once nor have I only seen for the first time within the last few years. I’d also say the order of the top ten shouldn’t be taken too seriously. On a different day, I may have the top ten shuffled up some. Lastly, each one meant something to me, whether being a major landmark in me being a film/horror fan or a more personal reason.

    Truthfully, I find top tens with only the very best to be fairly dull. Oh, someone has The Exorcist, Halloween, Jaws, Texas Chainsaw Massacre, ect on their list? Them and everyone else who has ever done a top ten list. It’s when you go with favorites over just purely the best is when you can really see what someone’s horror tastes are really like.

    First up, let’s do some honorable mentions:

    Friday the 13th Part 6, The Hills Have Eyes (2006), Intruder, The Wolf Man, The Shining and for a more random selection, I’ll name 2007’s Wind Chill.

    10. The Descent (2005) – Take away the creatures and you have a scary claustrophobic driven story. With the creatures added, it’s an amazing ride and one that I compare all other exploration horror films now.

    09. The Texas Chainsaw Massacre (1974) – TCM is not a pleasant movie to sit through. It feels real and similar to the Descent, the original cause for concern is just the tip of the iceberg. The longer the movie goes, the crazier things become. Unlike someone like Nancy in A Nightmare on Elm Street, Sally handles things as you’d expect. The crazier things become, the more she loses her mind. By the end, she’s a total nutcase and even if she’s out of harm way, you just know she’ll never mentally recover. I still have a poster of the movie on my wall that I’ve had for…thirteen years? It’s traveled with me to different homes, to the college dorms, ect.

    08. Trick ‘r Treat (2007) – I don’t know how this site feels about piracy, but here’s my tale of piracy in regards to this movie and how much I enjoyed it. I originally illegally downloaded the movie when it first came out. I enjoyed it so much that I went out and bought the DVD. When I found out that the DVD didn’t have the extra features like the Blu-Ray had, a friend of mine willingly illegally uploaded the extras so I could watch them. I eventually gave in and bought the Blu-Ray. During each of those phases, I watched that version that I had previously obtained, but I always wanted more. So maybe my first view of the film was shady since I watched it by illegal means, but at the end of the day, that illegal view began the motion for me to have a DVD copy and a Blu-Ray copy. I keep spending money on the movie despite having a free copy from day one. It became an instant classic for me.

    07. Paranormal Activity (2009) – Paranormal Activity stayed with me days after seeing it. Since I’m a night owl, it made normal sounds like any old house would make suddenly scary. It’s one of the scariest movies ever made as long as you view it in a certain way. Since I was one of the billions of people that used that one website to request Paranormal Activity to their city, my name can be found in the credits of the movie. I’m a movie star?~!

    06. Child’s Play 2 (1990) – My earliest memories of horror would be back in the early 90’s when I would watch some of the popular Friday, Nightmare and Chucky sequels on cable with my sister and my cousins. Child’s Play 2 is one of the oldest horrors I can remember watching. Since I love horror icons as they’re best remembered, CP 2 is the ideal Chucky film to watch. Chucky is still taken seriously unlike the ___ of Chucky movies, but he’s quick with the one liners unlike in CP 1. The scene where Chucky is walking out of the classroom closet with the ruler and the light bulb going back and forth is a classic shot.

    05. Frankenstein (1931) – In recent years, I’ve become a big fan of the old Universal Monster movies. Not only is Frankenstein my favorite of the bunch, but the original Frankenstein series (Frankenstein, Bride of, Son of, Ghost of, Frank vs The Wolf Man, House of Frank, and House of Dracula) may now be my favorite horror series ever. At this very moment, I’m literally drinking coffee from my Frankenstein’s Monster mug. There’s something about the fact that these old Universal horrors can tell a complete story in about an hour’s time without feeling rushed.

    04. Psycho (1960) – The movie that made me a Hitchcock fan. Is there much I can say about this movie that hasn’t been said by a billion people over the years? It’s a riveting story that takes a giant detour in the middle of the movie to scare people into staying dirty rather than dare take a shower. Shout out to Psycho 2 for being such an underrated movie.

    03. A Nightmare on Elm Street 3 (1987) – Same concept as Child’s Play 2. This is the Freddy I think about when Krueger gets talked about. He’s wise cracking and clever with his kills, but he hasn’t quite reached the point where he’s too funny that he’s lost his scare ability. Dream Warriors 3 may also have my favorite horror song in Dokken’s Dream Warriors. I don’t have any shame in rocking out to that song. Again, like CP 2, this is one of the earliest horror movies I can remember seeing.

    02. Black Christmas (1974) – I’m fairly sure the first movie ever recommended to me by someone online was Black Christmas. Back in 2001 (?) this movie was recommended to me by Dan Duffin (A UK’er IIRC) over at the old Halloween movies message board. Duffin was such a fan of Black Christmas that he’s pretty much responsible for all of the extras you can find on the Blu-Ray. Upon seeing it, I was totally engrossed with the movie and it’s one that still works today. I have an attic in my house and truthfully, I haven’t been up in there in years. In theory, someone could be in it at this very moment I’d never know it. There’s even been real reports over the years of homeless people living in crawlspaces or attics of unsuspecting homeowners. That’s a terrifying thought. Even without the vulgarity, the phone calls are beyond creepy. Back in the day, this was the horror I recommended the most to friends when I was in junior high and high school. The fact that my all time favorite Christmas movie is A Christmas Story only makes loving Black Christmas more fun.

    01. Halloween 4 (1988) – This might be cheating, but I won’t tell if you won’t. This is more of a pick for the entire Halloween series than just one. Without a doubt, Halloween is the reason why I became a horror fan, the reason why I first got involved in a form of social media in the early 2000’s, and is the most merchandise I have out of any horror franchise. So, why pick H4 over the original? Well, I think my age plays a part in it. Being born in ’86, I can relate to the Halloween displayed in Halloween 4 more than I can in the original Halloween. I can remember those cheap little costumes that Jamie was looking through at the drug store. Having the time period be more relateable for me makes it easier to put myself in Jamie’s shoes than I can for Laurie and company. I believe Halloween 4 was the first horror VHS I had bought (I was just recording them off of cable prior to that). I have a vivid memory of having the VHS standing up on my entertainment center in my room, but having to put it face down because looking at that mask on the cover was creeping me out too much. To some extent, I think Michael is the scariest he’s ever been in this movie due to harassing this poor little girl who isn’t entirely aware of what’s going on. She’s going through all of this crap and uncertainty in here life only for things to get so much worse when Uncle Mikey comes around for some visitation. As I said in an earlier post, the movie has a lot of replay value for me. There’s also the fact that watching Halloween 4 also means the original Halloween is fresh on your mind. So I only love Halloween 4 so much because of what a great foundation the original Halloween created.

    My apologies if I got a bit carried away with the explanations and stories. If there’s any curiosity, the reason why there aren’t any foreign movies is because they don’t fit the whole “Movies I’ve been watching for years” stipulation.

    Like

    • Woah! Yet again all of the words for us! Thank you so much for your comment and for getting involved! We always welcome opinions and lists from listeners.

      Personally, almost every film you mentioned in your top ten are ones that were either in my own top ten list, or very close to being added. As you say, lists can shuffle on a daily basis. Some days I think Jaws might be one of my favourites, yet I didn’t actually include it in my final decision list.. I think I might have to revisit this list in about a year and see what I’d change. That’s always the interesting and fun thing – new movies come out, or you get recommended ones you never knew existed before and they go STRAIGHT into your top ten.

      Maybe you’ll have to revisit your own list in a year or so to see if you’d change anything, too.

      I think top film lists are probably one of the first topics I go for when trying to listen to a new podcast. It’s a really good way to get to know the hosts of the show and to see if you share similar interests.

      Like

      • Even though your Jason X episode was really…something, I wouldn’t have blamed you guys for this episode as the first episode. It’s a good themed episode to get to know the hosts and see what all they know about horror.

        Part of the problem of trying to revisit your top ten is how a movie can stay with you right after you see it. You watch something good and suddenly it’s the best movie ever until you watch another good one. Finding that balance between something you really find to be great, but not a flavor of the month can be a little difficult.

        Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

